Inspiration – Friday Night Ride To The Coast

One of the reasons I love cycling is the massive variety in how you can do it. From commuting and pootling to the pub, nipping to the shops, towing the kids to the park in a trailer, all the way to velodromes, time trials, blingy carbon bikes and the insane world of long distance events like Land’s End to John O’Groats or Paris-Brest-Paris.

I don’t do nearly all of these things, and to be honest I don’t want to right now. Some take more fitness than I have right now, some need more money or organisation or planning than I can muster. But there’s so many things I do want to do, and this is one of them – FNRttC, or the Friday Night Ride to the Coast:

It’s a beautifully simple idea. Organised by The Fridays, riders “leave Hyde Park Corner at midnight under a full moon and ride through the night at a conversational pace, arriving at the coast in time for breakfast”.

At about 60 miles (depending on the route and destination) I think I need to build up a little more stamina, but it’s definitely on my to-do list for this summer if I can get the legs for it. I can’t think of many better ways to build up an appetite before a full English!

One thought on “Inspiration – Friday Night Ride To The Coast

  1. Jurek says:

    One word: Southend.

    It’s the easiest of the FNRttCs, just over 50 mostly flat miles, with excellent half way stop catered by the legendary Tulley family in the pretty village of Stock. The next one leaves HPC on May 4th. Hope to see you there.

    Jurek

    http://fnrttc.blogspot.co.uk/

Leave a Reply

