Staying Motivated When It’s Cold And Wet

I’m sure it’ll surprise almost no-one when I say that I hate riding in bad weather. Rule #9 be damned, it’s just not fun.

So now, as the dark evenings are setting in and it’s almost never shorts weather, I’m finding it harder and harder to motivate myself to go and ride my bike. But I really don’t want to stop riding just because it’s not super warm outside, so I need to do something to keep my spirits up and make it a little more bearable.

“There is no such thing as bad weather, only inappropriate clothing.” — Sir Rannulph Fiennes

The first thing, of course, is dressing for the occasion. It’s time to begrudgingly admit that the summer-weight shorts and jerseys might have to wait in the cupboard until spring, and the long-sleeve baselayers and extra-thick bib longs are more suited to the current British weather.

There’s also a lot to be said for the benefits of something so simple as the humble Buff. Especially for slap-heads like me, they’re invaluable as a perfect helmet liner to keep the warmth in, or to fill the gap between your neck and the collar of your jacket.

The second trick is to… well. Just get out there and do it. Realistically I know that unless I commit myself to something, I’ll probably look up at the overcast sky and think, “nah… maybe tomorrow”. So train tickets have been booked and places confirmed for a few season-ending rides in September and October, including the classic Brighton FNRttC and a couple of yacf forum rides. That’ll keep me busy for a few weekends!

And finally, of course, there is always an alternative – cheat. I might have to start scouring that well-known action site for a cheap second-hand turbo trainer…

Leave a Reply

